Members of 12 Ensemble
Directors: Eloisa-Fleur Thom (violin) & Max Ruisi (cello)

Strauss Sextet from Capriccio [12’]
Shostakovich Two pieces for String Octet, Op.11 [10’]
Mendelssohn Octet for strings, Op.20 [30’]

Written when he was just 16, Mendelssohn’s Octet is full of ‘youthful verve, brilliance and perfection [which] make it one of the miracles of nineteenth-century music.’

An equally youthful Shostakovich fills his dramatic Octet with a mixture of mysterious folk-like melodies and crunching harmonies whose driving rhythms propel us to a breathless finish. By contrast the Strauss, in one of the last pieces he ever wrote, is heart-stoppingly beautiful, lyrical and serene.

It all adds up to an unforgettable evening performed by members of the ‘insanely talented’12 Ensemble, London’s acclaimed un-conducted string orchestra: ‘bold, versatile and virtuosic’, they are renowned for playing of ‘raw energy and excitement’.

Join the musicians after the show for a drink (included in the ticket price).


Concert running time c.80 minutes (no interval) followed by drinks

Event Details

Thursday 27 June 2019

Old Divinity School, St John's College



£20 (£10 in full-time education); ticket includes post-concert drink with the artists